Goodbye Old Teaching Job!

I’m not out of the teaching business completely, but I was so glad to finally be able to say good riddance to my old company and crazy boss at the end of March!

© J // Washing Rice Blog

© J // Washing Rice Blog

In Japan it’s customary to give departing teachers flowers or another small gift.  Although I was aware of this custom, the sheer amount of gifts I received was surprising and somehow much more than what the past departing teachers had received!    It was bittersweet to say goodbye to all of my kiddos, but I felt loved reading their letters and how many of them said they enjoyed having class together over the past five years.  I ran out of things to use as vases halfway through the week, and this was only a third of it all!

© J // Washing Rice Blog

© J // Washing Rice Blog

So what’s in store now?  Well, for the first week of April I took a trip down to Gifu and Okayama, which I’ll touch on more next post.  Job-wise, I’m doing half translation, half teaching.  I’ve registered as a translator with a few more companies and am getting a pretty steady flow of work for just starting out on my own.  I’ll also be teaching a handful of classes part-time at similar place (minus the crazy boss!) and I’ve got some private students of my own.  I’ve waited a long time for this moment, and I’m excited that the time has finally come!

I’m sure this means there a ton of adventures in the making, and hope you’ll stick around for them.  🙂

– J

Leave a Reply

